An Ode to the Strangest Person in Sports

An Ode to the Strangest Person in Sports

Zack Greinke has been one of the best pitchers in the MLB for around 16 years now and the average fan doesn’t know a single thing about him. I say “average fan” because he has become something of an enigma in the inner circles of the game of baseball. He gives extremely awkward interviews and this can be attested to his battles with depression and social anxiety, which almost ended his career about a decade ago. With that being said, I can’t get enough of Greinke and I think not only is he one of the best pitchers of this generation but he may possibly be the most amusing.

The legacy of Greinke will never not be entertaining. I’m going to lay down some of his more famous quotes and let you decide for yourselves.

“Some of you guys have been doing the number two and not washing your hands. It’s not good. I noticed it even happening earlier today. So if you guys could just be better about it that would be great.”

“To talk to people, I have to spend energy talking to them. If I expend my energy on talking to people and making friends, it takes away from the energy I could focus on getting ready to pitch.”

“There’s more people to ignore in New York or Boston than there are in Milwaukee, but I would still ignore them, probably.”

“You’re not allowed to write about me if you haven’t seen ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ See it, and then get back to me.”

“I’ve only kept one award in my whole life, and it’s the coolest thing ever. Mizuno gave me a samurai sword for winning the Cy Young. It’s awesome.”

“I like the guacamole. Now, I don’t really love the guacamole. So I get it when I feel like it. They changed their guacamole from $1.50 to $1.80. I mean, $1.50 is already pretty darn high. So they changed it to $1.80, and I’ll never again get guacamole. It’s not about the guacamole itself, I just don’t want to let them win.”

“Brad Pitt has something about him to where he’s played different characters in all his movies, and every single time after he’s done, I want to be him.”

“There definitely will be flying cars, but whether there’ll be flying cars for most people to use, it’ll probably take a long time to straighten everything out, all the rules and hassles. It’ll take a while to figure out how to keep people from crashing into each other.”

 

I can go on for hours, there are a ton more quotes. I always hear New York Yankees fans bash him because they say he’s scared to play under the pressures of New York. Maybe that’s true, maybe it isn’t, but we all need to celebrate this man for the alien the is.

Leave a comment